Prefects investiture ceremony

The Investiture Ceremony

           The Investiture Ceremony for the prefects of  the year 2017-18 of  The Laidlaw Memorial School & Junior College was held on 5th June, 2017. The ceremony was initiated with the Prefects entering the stage on a slow march followed by the Principal and the Chief Guest. The Chairperson of the Board, Mr Norman Wood was present along with his wife Mrs Wood. Other members of the board and parents of the respected prefects also graced the occasion.

            It was a solemn event wherein the prefects were inducted into their various roles through the oath taking ceremony. Mr. Gary Everett, Principal, Laidlaw Memorial School, presided over the ceremony.  The Chief Guest for the ceremony was Mr. Barry Sequeira, an ex-Georgian and also the most respected head boy of the 1960 batch of Georgians. In his speech he focused on the importance of ‘not demanding respect’ but gaining it through hard work and dedication. He also emphasized that every good leader is remembered for his or her genuine nature, not just during school time but even decades later.

                Mr.Norman Wood, our esteemed Chairman also spoke to the prefects on the importance of upholding their duties without digression.

             The choir too, upheld the solemnity of the day by singing a number of hymns and songs melodiously.

            The following were the chosen prefects for the academic year 2017-2018

1. Head Boy – Yashwanth
2. Head Girl – Nikita Kay Santy
3. Deputy Head Boy – Pynthamizh Vasanthan
4. Deputy Head Girl – Deborah Connors
5. Cockburn Captain (Boys) – Kavin Pranao
6. Cockburn Captain (Girls) – Benita Christobel
7. Hamilton Captain (Boys) – Denzil Henderson
8. Hamilton Captain (Girls) – Jovitha
9. Laidlaw Captain (Boys) – Pranav Sakthi
10. Laidlaw Captain (Girls) – Shanju Selvaraj
11. Plummer Captain (Boys) – Yugesh Sanjeev
12. Plummer Captain (Girls) – Neha Jeyakumar
13. Sports Captain (Boys) – Danniel Pereira
14. Sports Captain (Girls) – Nivea
15. Cultural Prefects – Krishna Raagavendhar & Nethra
16. Internationalism Prefects – Armaan Mathew & Nazneen Sameer
17. Guest Prefects – Dheeraj & Teresa McDonald
18. Editorial Prefects – Nikash John & Soundharrya Meenakshi                           
19. Assistant Editorial Prefects – Rahul Rajesh ,Shreepathy Iyappan, Krithika & Krisshya

           We wish all of them a wonderful and fruitful year ahead.
Gallery Home